poplaraw.blogg.se

Mit brass rat 2017
Mit brass rat 2017











mit brass rat 2017

I had put my ring in my shoe for safe keeping but it must have tipped out. The first was on a long sand beach in Maine where I had spend a very pleasant day with a lady friend. I've had two very near losses over the years. It was a great memento that I figure will never return, but based on some of these stories, who knows? Might get lucky.ĭo you have a story of brass rats lost or found? Share in the comments. Lost mine sometime in the mid-70’s when I wasn’t wearing it – had a wedding ring on my left hand at the time and a busted ring finger on my right hand prevented me from putting it there. I replaced it with an insurance payment but since our year had a different jeweler, the ring on my finger still doesn’t look like my brass rat even after twenty years.Īlfred Morgan ’72 From time to time I thought about ordering a replacement ring but never did. Nick Uhlenhuth's brass rat provides a perfect frame.Ĭheryl Dawson ’67 Mine was stolen from my swim bag in the locker room at the YMCA and I called all the pawn shops and jewelry shops in town, but never found it. Robert Wang ’69 Lost my brass rat while camping in Yosemite above the valley floor soon after graduation. Mine has never been found – it has the initials CKW inside. Of course I chose the diamond, figuring that I still had custody of his rat. He offered me the choice of a replacement rat or a diamond engagement ring – couldn’t afford both. We had traded brass rats as juniors, but he lost mine somewhere in Missouri during the summer of 1968. Keep a lookout for the following brass rats.Ĭlaudia Winters Viehland ’69 Larry Viehland and I were newly engaged in 1968 (both of us in course V, 1969). A few alumni chimed in with their stories of still missing rings. Unfortunately, not all lost brass rats return home. Back to the pier, picking through the mud, and there was my class ring.

mit brass rat 2017

So I said to myself, “Self, give it one try.” I dove off the dock with my eyes closed, stretched my arm to the bottom and grabbed a handful of mud. Ted Kraver ’60, SM ’61 About 55 years ago while I was diving off the end of a boat dock into a shallow mud lake, I discovered my class ring was gone. He said that he found at in a box of junk that he got at a yard sale. I called him back and asked where he found it.

mit brass rat 2017

However, when I got the ring back, it was my original ring, not the replacement. I assumed that the thief sold it and it somehow ended up in Massachusetts. About two months later I got a call from a fellow alum in Massachusetts who said he had found my ring. About 10 years ago, my ring was stolen from my house in a robbery. I got the replacement and wore it for many years. I called the past president of the ring committee and ordered a replacement. Peter Dinhofer ’75 I lost my ring just after graduation. Having graduated many years ago (Class of 1950) some of my ring’s features are no longer discernable, but the beaver still attracts notice–and comment!Ĭhristine Yu '10 shared a photo of her brass rat in tough shape. The owner’s dog dug it up 10 years later!Įrnie Anschutz ’50 I too lost my ring while washing my car, finding it a day later after sifting through leaves all over my driveway. Ten years later I’m feeling rich enough to buy a replacement and six months after getting my replacement, my old ring is sent back to me! Evidently I lost it while passing thru a backyard in Newton on my way to visit a friend.

mit brass rat 2017

I thought I had lost it while on the trail around Lake Waban. Glenn Nelson ’74 In 1974 a week before I graduated I lost my ring (class of 73, though). After we shared that story, you chimed in with miraculous stories of your own. With the help of an Alabama woman, a local news station, and the Alumni Association, Meyer was reunited with his ring in August. We recently shared the story of Stephen Meyer ’64 who lost his brass rat 50 years ago while washing a car. While many brass rats have been lost, sunk, or destroyed over the years, some of those brass rats do come back. Just as alumni leave MIT, sometimes their class ring leaves them. While many traditions occur on campus, one tradition leaves with graduates-the brass rat. MIT has many unique traditions: pianos are dropped from buildings, hacks randomly appear atop the Great Dome, and students always go for a swim in their first weeks at the Institute.













Mit brass rat 2017